Tamil Nadu Agricultural University

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU) is an agrotechnology provider of India and its graduates are recognized throughout the world. The Tamil Nadu Agricultural University had its genesis from establishment of an agricultural school at Saidapet, Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India, as early as 1868 which was later relocated at Coimbatore during 1906.
The university offers thirteen undergraduate degree programs, forty graduate degree programs and twenty-six doctoral programs in 15 colleges distributed in 11 campuses all over Tamil Nadu. TNAU has 36 research centers for agrotechnology development and 14 Farm Science Centers for outreach.
In 1920 it was affiliated to Madras University. TNAU assumed full responsibilities of Agricultural Education and Research and supported the State Agricultural Department by delivering research products. Till 1946, the Agricultural College and Research Institute, Coimbatore, was the only Institute for Agricultural Education for the whole of South India. In 1958, it was recognized as a post-graduate centre leading to master’s and doctoral degrees. The Agricultural College and Research Institute, Madurai was established in 1965. These two colleges formed the nucleus of the Tamil Nadu Agricultural University while it was established in 1971.
In 1972, separate degree programmes of B.Sc. (Horticulture) and B.E. (Agriculture) were started. In 1979, a separate Faculty of Horticulture was established. In 1980, B.Sc. (Home Science) programme was started at the Madurai campus. The third agricultural college was started at Killikulam in 1984 and the fourth at Kumulur (Trichy) in 1989 and later shifted to Navalur Kuttappattu (Trichy) in 1992 which is named as Anbil Dharmalingam Agricultural College and Research Institute. During 1985, B.Sc. (Forestry) programme was started at Coimbatore. Presently the B.Sc. (Horticulture) degree programme is being offered at Horticultural College and Research Institute, Periyakulam and B.Sc. (Forestry) degree programme at Forest College and Research Institute, Mettupalayam. In line with technological changes the B.E. (Agriculture) hitherto offered is offered as B.Tech.(Agricultural Engineering) from the academic year 2002–2003 at Agricultural Engineering College and Research Institute, Kumulur, Trichy. B.Sc. (Home Science) degree program is being offered at Home Science College and Research Institute, Agricultural College Campus, Madurai. The Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru College of Agriculture and Research Institute, Karaikal, governed by the government of Pondichery, is an affiliated institute of Tamil Nadu Agricultural University where B.Sc. (Agriculture) course is being offered. Apart from these academic institutes, the University now has research programs at more than 32 stations, spread over in Tamil Nadu with more than 1200 scientists and teaching faculty.
The global technological developments have led to introduction of new courses. Introduction of B. Tech. (Food Process Engineering) from the academic year 1998–99, B. Tech. (Agricultural Biotechnology) and B. Tech. (Horticulture) from the academic year 2002–2003 as a self-supporting program has created avenues for budgetary independence. A new degree program B. Tech. (Energy and Environmental Engineering) was started during 2004 and B. Tech. (Bioinformatics) during 2006. B. Tech. (Agricultural Information Technology) and B.S. (Agribusiness Management) were started in 2007.

Water Technology Centre

Water Technology Centre (WTC) at Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU) is one among the three such centres in the country which was established during 1982 to cater to the needs of the Southern region in relation to research, extension and teaching. It plays a key role in making an assessment of the available resources of water and economic utilization for maximizing agricultural production with suitable on-farm water management practices developed for different situations. Over the years, the centre has grown up in terms of infrastructural facilities, staff positions, research and training activities and it stands foremost among the institutions devoted for water management issues. The Water Technology Centre which encompasses five inter-disciplinary units viz., Agronomy, Agricultural Engineering, Agricultural Economics, Crop Physiology and Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry are involved in developing a package of practices with the main focal theme on increasing Water Use efficiency (WUE) with simultaneous increase in crop production. Some of the major thrust areas given due recognition are: cropping system and water management, micro irrigation and fertigation, watershed management, conjunctive use, water quality and waste water recycling, agricultural drainage and water policy. Besides, the Centre is handling State Government aided plan schemes, international collaborative schemes, Government of India schemes, ICAR schemes and private agency funded schemes.